Mercedes-Benz presents teams for the 2014 DTM season

Today, the workers at the Mercedes-Benz plant in Untertürkheim welcomed some celebrity visitors from the world’s most popular touring car series. At a special event laid on for employees and attended by the seven Mercedes-Benz DTM drivers plus Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport Toto Wolff, the scene was set for the 30th anniversary season of the DTM.

Christian Vietoris opened the proceedings with a flourish: the highest-placed Mercedes-Benz driver from the 2013 season paraded his DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupé around the works premises led by the DTM Mercedes-Benz C 63 AMG safety car with Formula 1’s Bernd Mayländer at the wheel. The DTM stars then gave a series of interviews in which they discussed their preparations for the new campaign, signed autographs and posed for photos. The factory workers were also invited to try their hand at changing tyres in the pit stop simulator and to compete against Pascal Wehrlein on the race simulator.

In the course of the event, Mercedes-Benz also announced the allocation of drivers to the HWA and Mücke Motorsport teams:


Driver (Number)

Driver (Number)

Original-Teile/AMG Mercedes (HWA)

Christian Vietoris (5)

Paul Di Resta (6)


Gary Paffett (11)

Robert Wickens (12)

Petronas /AMG Mercedes (Mücke)

Daniel Juncadella (19)

Vitaly Petrov (20)

Gooix Mercedes AMG (HWA)

Pascal Wehrlein (25)

The 30th DTM season gets underway on 4th May with the customary curtain-raiser at the Hockenheimring Baden-Württemberg.

Toto Wolff, Head of Mercedes-Benz Motorsport

Toto Wolff‘It was wonderful to sense the enthusiasm of everyone at the Mercedes-Benz plant in Untertürkheim for motor racing and to lay on a thrilling DTM display for them inside their factory gates. I would be delighted to see them turn out in their numbers for the DTM season opener at Hockenheim and cheer on our drivers in the Motodrom and from the Mercedes-Benz grandstand. Once again, we have put together a strong squad, with an excellent mix of experience and youth. In Gary Paffett and Paul di Resta, we have two former DTM champions. Also taking the wheel of our DTM Mercedes AMG C-Coupés will be drivers who have already made a name for themselves in DTM and Formula 1, plus our Mercedes Juniors. I am convinced that our drivers will be giving colleagues and fans alike plenty to shout about this year.”

Photos: Daimler AG

Please read our privacy policy